Hades is the first videogame to win a Hugo Award

During the 79th annual Worldcon, aka DisCon III, the winners of the Hugo Awards have been introduced. Hades gained the Best Video Game award, over different nominees Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Baseball, Final Fantasy 7 Remake, The Last of Us Part 2, and Spiritfarer. “We hope that the Hugo Awards proceed to acknowledge the superb work being finished on this house,” mentioned Greg Kasavin of Supergiant Games in a televised acceptance speech, earlier than thanking the Greek gods “each above and beneath”.

The Hugo Awards have been recognizing the greatest literary works of science fiction and fantasy since 1953, throughout an evolving set of classes—the class for Best Graphic Story was solely added in 2009. This yr’s Best Video Game class was included as a one-off. 

As DisConIII co-chair Colette Fozard explained, “Since early 2020, many people have spent extra time gaming than we ever anticipated. This award will supply followers a chance to have a good time the video games which have been significant, joyful, and distinctive over this previous yr.” A everlasting Best Game or Interactive Experience class is being considered


Hades has gained loads of different awards since its launch, together with GDC Game of the Year and BAFTAs for Best Game, Artistic Achievement, Game Design, Narrative, and Performer in a Supporting Role (Logan Cunningham). We declared it 2020’s Best Action Game too.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button