‘It reminded me why I love sport’: Young sportswriter winners revealed | Swimming

Splashing tales from British watersports have received each classes of the 2021 Football School/Guardian Young Sportswriter of the Year award.

James Sarfas, age 9 and from Reading, Berkshire, received the class for kids aged from seven to 9 for an article concerning the gold-medal exploits of Tom Daley and Matty Lee on the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, whereas Isla Trude Callard, age 12 and from York, was judged finest within the age 10-12 class for an emotive celebration of the Paralympic swimmer Ellie Simmonds.

The judges for the award, now in its third 12 months, included the previous England rugby participant Catherine Spencer, the bike owner Tao Geoghegan Hart, the golfer Ian Poulter, the previous England striker Rachel Yankey, the previous Germany defender Per Mertesacker, the Olympic and world 400m gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu, the Arsenal defender Lotte Wubben-Moy, and the England cricketer Jack Leach. The latter was the topic of a successful entry final 12 months.

The competitors requested entrants to put in writing a narrative of as much as 600 phrases a couple of sports activities occasion or an athlete. The prize for every of the winners contains having their article printed by the paper and having a writing workshop at their faculty with a Guardian sportswriter.


The judges have been filled with reward for the contestants: “I can’t actually believe these pieces were written by [people in] those age groups. It’s incredible,” mentioned Poulter. Catherine Spencer mentioned of Safras’s story: “I could picture the scene and felt like I was there. It was a great balance between evoking emotion and delivering the facts.” Of Callard’s piece she added: “The article captures what sport is about to me; it inspired me and reminded me why I love sport.”

The ultimate shortlist included tales on cricket, mountain-climbing, tennis and lacrosse. Samuel Mitting, who wrote concerning the Tour de France, was the runner-up within the age seven to 9 class whereas Alex Raeburn, who wrote about Tom Daley, took the identical spot for the age 10-12 award.

Marcus Christenson, the Guardian’s soccer particular tasks editor, mentioned: “Young people have an extraordinary capacity to tell it how it is – and do it in a very infectious way. The pieces from our two winners are perfect examples of that, but they weren’t the only ones to shine. The overall quality of the young writers was heartening to see.”

Terrific TeamsTerrific Teams


Alex Bellos and Ben Lyttleton, authors of the Football School ebook sequence, added: “The quality of writing in this year’s competition was outstanding. We were bowled over by the passion of each writer. The future of sportswriting looks very exciting!”

The Football School/Guardian Young Sportswriter of the Year award will likely be held once more subsequent 12 months.

Football School is a ebook sequence for readers aged 7-13. The newest within the sequence is Terrific Teams: 50 True Stories of Football’s Greatest Sides. For extra data on the competitors go to

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button